Club Championship Weekend

Please note that PRIZES CAN BE collected from MIDLAND GOLF(Bromsgrove) from SATURDAY 24th July 2021.

we can now report that Matt Parry (70, 70, 140) won the Club Championship with a convincing four-stroke victory over Shaun Bowen (144). Matt led by two shots after the first round from Scott Harris (72), with Phil Dyke and Shaun Bowen tied third on 73, Seth Leher (75) lying in fifth, and Ryan Coy (75) in sixth.

As many of the contenders fell away over the front nine on Sunday, Matt held a commanding lead with nine holes to play and sealed his victory with a superb birdie at the final hole to clinch the title. Shaun Bowen (73, 71, 144) claimed the runners-up spot ahead of Phil Dyke (73,72, 145), Scott Harris (72, 77, 149), Ian Sallows (77, 73, 150), and Ryan Coy (75, 75,150).

The nett title went to Richard Baller (62, 67, 129), who had led by three shots after the first round. Richard maintained his lead in the second round to finish first with Keith Forbes (66, 66, 132) taking the runners up spot, with Shaun Bowen (67, 65, 132) in third place, Scott Harris (65,70, 135) in fourth and Michael Bowen (66, 69, 135) in fifth place.

The entry of 111 competitors, including a high proportion making their first appearance, faced a tough challenge over the weekend due to the high heat and humidity on a course in excellent condition.

There were 27 gross twos recorded during the course of the Club Championship. The successful players were:

Lee Tynan, Jonathan Bird, David Burford x 2, Phillip Dyke, Scott Harris, Matthew Parry,

Alastair Harris, David James, James Campbell, James McDonald, Bernard Jones, Samuel

Richmond, Anthony Machin, James Mildner, Josh Checkley, Richard Ewen, Gareth Price,

Peter Fox, Keith Forbes, Luke Bimson, David Osborne, David Went, Adam Booth, Robert

Hodges, James Clarke and Philip Yorke.

Sunday Only Players:

The system was set up for a two-day competition and did not allow us to enter the ‘Sunday Only’ scores. The Committee would like to reassure you that the results were taken into account when calculating the scores for the ‘Day 2’ prizes. These scores will also be entered onto your WHS Handicap record in due course.

The scores for Sunday Only players were:

Division 1:

Phil Yorke – No return

James Clark – Gross 77, Net 73

Adam Rodway – Gross 94, Net 82

Division 2:

Anthony Bland – Gross 92, Net 76

Gary Stafford – Gross 97, Net 84

Division 3:

David Straw – Gross 107, Net 88

John Kelly – Gross 97, Net 78

Raffle prizes:

1st place: Srixon Tour Bag – Bernard Jones

2nd place: £50.00 – Phillip Harris

3rd place: £30.00 – Daniel Sill

4th place: £20.00 – Dave Halfpenny

5th place: £15.00 – Keith Plowman

6th place: £10.00 – Peter Fox

NOTE: Two’s and monetary raffle prize money will soon be credited to Members Card Accounts.

 Club Championship Competition Co-ordinators

For a list of all the results Click HereFinal MCCrollofhonour 2021

Please Note

K Johnson Cup: This competition has now been rescheduled for Sunday 22nd August 2021 due to fixture congestion. The competition is open for booking on both the Club V1 and HowDidIDo apps.