Club Championship 2022

Ryan Coy (65, 77, 142) won the 2022 Club Championship with a convincing seven-stroke victory over Daniel Downes.

Ryan led by nine shots at the end of the first round, after shooting a new course record (65), from Rod Armstrong (74) with James Mildner and Ian Sallows tied third on 75, Daniel Downes (76) in fifth and Christian Shotton (76) in sixth.

As many of the contenders fell away over the front nine on Sunday, Ryan held a commanding lead with nine holes to play and sealed his victory with a par at the final hole to clinch the title. Daniel Downes (76, 73, 149) claimed the runners-up spot ahead of Christian Shotton (76 ,75, 151), Ian Sallows (75, 76, 151) and Seth Leher (78, 74, 152).

The nett title went to James Campbell (64, 68, 132), who had equalled Ryan Coy (64) after the first round, with James Mildner (65) in the third spot and in fourth place was David Long (66). James held his nerve in the second round shooting a 68 to take the title from James Mildner (65.71, 136).

The entry of 94 competitors, including a number making their first appearance, faced a tough challenge over the weekend on a course in good condition. Saturday was warm with the occasional showers. The weather on Sunday was cooler with blustery wind making difficult playing conditions.

There were 12 gross twos during the Club Championship. The successful players were Christian Shotton (2), Ryan Coy, Daniel Downes, James Yorke, Andrew Wilson, Andrew Lawrence, James Campbell, Richard Egan, Jonathan Cofield, Steven Jones, and Ashley Powis.

We would just like to say thanks to the proprietors, management and staff for their continued support, the green staff for presenting the course in excellent condition, and the members of the Competition Committee for ensuring the championship ran smoothly (in particular, Lorraine Bowen and Paula Cerrone) for their tireless efforts in the recorder’s hut and all the players for participating and making it such a memorable weekend.

Find the results here rollofhonour 2022 v4 copy copy

Club Championship Competitions Committee

Day 1 Two’s

Daniel Downes 2 @ Hole 17

James Yorke 2 @ Hole 3

Christian Shotton 2 @ Hole 3,  2 @ Hole 7

Andrew Wilson 2 @ Hole 11

Andrew Lawrence 2 @ Hole

11 Ryan Coy 2 @ Hole 3

James Campbell 2 @ Hole 17

Richard Egan 2 @ Hole 11

Day 2 Two’s

Jonathan Cofield 2 @ Hole 7

Steven Jones 2 @ Hole 11

Ashley Powis 2 @ Hole 17